Skip to content


The European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or Euratom) was established by the Euratom Treaty on 25 March 1957 with the purpose of coordinating and monitoring nuclear energy research programs among the countries of the European Union. (Image: The contracts for the Small European Customs Pact and for the Western European Atomic Energy Community (Eurotom) were signed in Rome on March 25, 1957 by government representatives from the six member states of the Montan Union.(from left to right) Federal Chancellor Adenauer, who signed for the Bonn government, State Secretary Hallstein and the Italian Prime Minister Antonio Segni.)